Stop Breaking Your Own Heart!

Tamyara Brown
3 min readJan 2, 2022

Now more than ever, figuring out the Love you deserve!

I listened as the fireworks went off; the day was exhausting from the long work week. I was alone in my bed; my children went out. My grandson is upstairs playing his video game. The burning question I asked myself was, what will you change for the New Year? What do you want out of the year? The answer came as the clock struck twelve, and it was to stop breaking my own heart. It’s my worst habit to date. You wonder how? It is simply loving people who don’t love me the way I deserve to be. Ignoring the red flags and the truth because let’s face it, we can’t or don’t know how to handle rejection. This year I vow to go into friendships and relationships wisely. To believe their words and actions when it is designed to hurt me. The habit I have is going back to the same behaviors breaking me down. Allowing myself to be the punching bag as if I am glutton for punishment. I no longer want to be the woman always complaining about friendships and relationships that don’t work. I’m not seeking for them to change, only me. I’m learning to take words at face value and remove myself.

Believe their Actions

Actions will always speak louder than their words. You can’t love me if you’re constantly tearing me down. I notice that my pattern is accepting the things that don’t align with me. I…

--

--

Tamyara Brown

Tamyara is an author of eight novels, blogger, graphic and website designer. She is also the host of B.L.A.H Diaries.