The Casualties of their Words and her War- Generational Curses.

Tamyara Brown
2 min readMay 20, 2024

They say God scripts every story from the moment of conception to the day you’re born. Each narrative is intricately woven for the individual. Some lives are filled with abundance, while others are marked by scarcity — at least, that’s what I believe. Many of our problems echo through our bloodline, repeating until we confront the root issues in our family tree.

I once heard that for every story destined for prosperity, the devil aims to alter the narrative, seeking to kill, steal, and destroy. Yet, God has a plan. If you trust and believe in Him, He can be the ultimate breaker of generational curses.

The term “generational curse” has haunted me since I first heard it at the tender age of four, during my sister’s funeral. Those words resurfaced throughout my life, plunging me into deep depression each time. They made me feel as though my bloodline was tainted and unworthy. Every trial led me back to our family tree, its limbs broken and plagued by hardships. During my teens, twenties, and even into my forties, I questioned the author of my script. Not blaming God, but wondering if the devil was always lurking.

I decided to channel these fears into a fictional story about a teenager grappling with her family’s generational curse. Then, in a conversation with my writing coach, they reassured me, “You’re not the only one who fears the term generational curse. You’re also not the only one striving to break it.”

--

--

Tamyara Brown

Tamyara is an author of eight novels, blogger, graphic and website designer. She is also the host of B.L.A.H Diaries.